How can you delete your data in multiple Google services and why?

Google collects a lot of your data when using its multiple services, which are used to organize content recommendations in services such as: Google Play Store and YouTube, in addition to targeting you with targeted ads based on your activity, however, the company has given users tools to control how the company collects For their data, and this includes the ability to delete data in Google services automatically at regular intervals.

But in light of some updates to the privacy options that the company made at the end of 2019, you can now automatically delete your data in its various services.

How can you delete your data in multiple Google services and why?

Google organizes the data that you can delete automatically into three different categories:

  • Web and app history: This includes voice data from Google Assistant and other apps, and data collected from apps that sync with your Google account, such as your browsing history in Google Chrome.
  • YouTube search and watch history.
  • Record Google Maps application and GPS location data.

All this data can be accessed in your Google account activity dashboard, but before you know how to set up automatic deletion for this data, here is the answer to the question: Why should you?

One of the main reasons is the private personal data that Google collects about you that can affect your privacy significantly, especially when it comes to your location in the Google Maps application, however, the search history or viewing history in the YouTube application is completely different from sensitive data, such as : Name or bank information that Google deals with differently through separate tools to manage such data.

The most obvious reason is that deleting your data periodically is useful for organizing content in these services and changing the ads that appear for you, as deleting your old content history periodically is like giving YouTube or Google Play an update based on your current interests.

How to automatically delete your Google data:

The process is almost identical on both smartphones and computers, to do so follow these steps:

  • Go to the Google Activity Dashboard via this link .
  • On the left side of the screen, click on the Activity controls option.
  • Scroll down to choose the type of data you want to manage, then select (Manage Activity).
  • On the page that appears for you, click on the option (how long to keep) at the bottom of the calendar icon.
  • Select the time of automatic deletion you want – three months or 18 months – or you can choose to delete your data manually.
  • Click Next to save the changes.

Repeat these steps for each type of data that you want to automatically delete, and for your site history in particular, you will need to click on the Today option in the top left corner first, then press the gear icon in the lower right corner of the screen, and select Automatically delete Location History, then choose the time you want.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *